Six candidates for coveted post of Pakistan’s Prime Minister

Candidates for post of Prime Minister

By Muhamamd Luqman
Ruling Pakistan Muslim League (N) and the divided opposition have fielded six candidates in the elections for the coveted post of Pakistan’s Prime Minister being held on Tuesday. Despite concerted efforts of PTI Chairman Imran Khan, opposition has failed to bring any consensus candidate for the slot.
Speaker National Assembly, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq found nomination papers of all the six candidates after due scrutiny.
President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned the session of National Assembly on August 1, Tuesday at 3.00 p.m. for the election of Prime Minister.
Ruling party enjoying the support of 214 members of the national assembly is all set to get its candidate, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi elected as new Prime Minister. Abbasi will act as interim Prime Minister for a period of 45 days till the election of Nawaz Sharif’s younger Prime Minister, Shahbaz Sharif.
Other candidates for the post of Prime Minister are Sheikh Rashid Ahmad (PTI), Khurshid Shah (PPP), Naveed Qamar (PPP), Sahibzada Tariqullah (Jamaat-e-Islami) and Kishwar Zehra (MQM).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here