Homecoming Rally: Court issues notices to Nawaz Sharif, 13 ministers

Notices issues to Nawaz Sharif, 13 Ministers

By Muhammad Luqman
Lahore High Court has issued notices to all former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and 13 federal and Punjab Ministers for alleged contempt of court during homecoming rally from Islamabad to Lahore.
The petition alleging contempt charges against the former prime minister was filed by Amina Malik of Civil Society Network.
The petition, states that the ousted prime minister undermined the Supreme Court’s decision of his disqualification during the recently concluded GT road rally and incited the public against the apex court and other state institutions.
The petition pleaded that Nawaz Sharif should be tried for both, treason as well as contempt of court.
The other members of parliament who have been served contempt of court notices are Khawaja Saad Rafique, Daniyal Aziz, Rana Sanaullah, Khawaja Asif, Talal Chaudhry, Asif Kirmani, Abid Sher Ali, Ishaq Dar including others.
The court has now been adjourned till the 25th of August.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here