Pakistani microbiologist wins UNESCO award


By Muhammad Luqman
Professor Shahida Hasnain of Pakistan and Dr Samir Saha of Bangladesh have been named as the two laureates of the 2017 Carlos J Finlay UNESCO Prize for Microbiology, according to media reports.
The prize will be presented on November 6 during the 39th session of the General Conference of UNESCO, which will bring together the Organization’s 195 Member States from October 30 to November 14.
Shahida Hasnain, founding chairperson of the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at the University of Punjab in Pakistan’s eastern city of Lahore , has won numerous distinctions for her work.
“Professor Hasnain significantly contributed to advances in research in environmental, agricultural and medical microbiology. She has notably worked on the heavy metal detoxification mechanisms, salt stress tolerance mechanisms, and bacterial morphogenesis,” said a statement from UNESCO.
The Carlos J Finlay UNESCO Prize rewards the efforts of an individual, or of an institution, non-governmental organization or other entity which, through research and development, has made an outstanding contribution to the field of microbiology and its applications.
The Government of Cuba and UNESCO established the prize in honour of one of the most important microbiologists in history: Carlos J. Finlay.
The Carlos J Finlay Prize for Microbiology has an endowment of $10,000, which will be divided between the two laureates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here